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General RequirementsGeneral Requirements

What are the requirements for the PE exam application?
1. Education: You must hold an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree.
2. Examination: You must have taken and passed the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering exam.
3. Experience: 4 years of experience under a licensed PE are required before licensure.

Will you accept an electronic transcript?
Electronic transcripts are accepted if they are sent by a secured delivery system directly from a university to the 
Board offi ce. The Board will also accept an official paper copy from the College or University.  No photocopied 
transcripts will be accepted.  Official transcripts must be in the sealed envelope from the College if submitted 
by the applicant with the application.

I attended two schools.  Do I have to send both transcripts?
Send the transcript from the school which conferred your engineering degree.  In most cases that will suffi ce.

I have a bachelor’s degree in engineering technology.  May I apply?
No.  By state law each applicant must have an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree or its equivalent to 
meet the education requirements.  Visit the ABET website (www.abet.org) for a list of  degrees. 

I do not have an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree.  How do I know if my education is equivalent?

Your education must be evaluated by NCEES credentials evaluation service.  Visit www.ncees.org.

I took and passed the FE exam in another state.  Do I have to take it again in Kansas?
No.  Kansas accepts the NCEES FE exam results from other states.

What are the requirements for the PE exam application? (for approval to take the exam only)
1. Education: You must hold an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree.
2.Examination: You must have taken and passed the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering exam.

Deadlines are ongoing.
All exams are computer based.      



Examination/InternExamination/Intern

ExperienceExperience

Reference forms must be returned directly from the reference.
Incomplete reference forms will be returned to the reference.
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I have a bachelor’s degree in engineering and a master’s degree in engineering.  Does the advanced degree count 
for experience?
Yes, the Board will allow one year of experience for a master’s degree in engineering if the baccalaureate degree 
is an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree.

I have a MBA.  Does it count for a year of engineering experience?
No, the MBA is a business degree not an engineering degree. 

I have a master’s degree in engineering.  Does that excuse me from the FE exam?
No, all applicants must have passed the NCEES FE exam before they can sit for the PE exam.

I took the FE exam in Kansas 10 years ago.  Has my Intern Certifi cation expired?
No, the Intern Certificate in Kansas does not have an expiration date.

I have completed 4 years of experience.  May I apply now?
Yes, the Board accepts applications all year from those who meet the requirements.

If I complete my four years of experience a few days after the deadline, may I go ahead and apply?
Yes! Professional Engineer applicants may now test before meeting the four-year experience requirement.  All 
requirements must be completed before licensure.

I graduated four years ago but did not find work for two months. I will have 4 years of experience when I take 
the exam. May I go ahead and apply?
Professional Engineer applicants may now test before meeting the four-year experience requirement.  All 
requirements must be completed before licensure.

Can I count my internship that I did while a student toward the four years of experience?
No, only experience gained after graduation with an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree will be allowed.

I have a bachelor’s degree in engineering and a master’s degree in engineering.  Does the advanced degree 
count for experience?
Yes, the Board will allow one year of experience for a master’s degree in engineering if the baccalaureate degree 
is an EAC/ABET accredited engineering degree.



General QuestionsGeneral Questions

Only offi  cial transcripts from the school are accepted. No photo-
copies, scanned copies or unsealed transcripts will be accepted.
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I have a MBA.  Does it count for a year of engineering experience?
No, the MBA is a business degree not an engineering degree.

Do my four years of experience have to be consecutive?  I have a gap of three months between my first and 
second engagements OR I held a non-engineering position for six months after graduation.
No.  Experience does not have to be consecutive.  You must list times of unemployment or non-engineering 
work on the experience record pages of the application along with a brief explanation.  No reference is required 
for unemployment or non-engineering time periods.

I worked for two years in the aeronautical industry.  I did not have a licensed PE supervisor.  What do I do?
Your work must meet the requirements of exemption (see K.A.R.66-10-9-b 2).  You must fi ll out the form for 
exemption from supervision of a licensed PE (page 8 of the application).  Your supervisor must fi ll out the 
reference form, even if not licensed. You must also have references from three licensed PE’s who know your 
work.

One of my supervisors is no longer with my company.  How do I verify the work completed under him?
Keep in touch with your former supervisors if at all possible.  If that is not possible and there is someone else 
in your company who reviewed your work during that time period, have him/her submit a reference form.  All 
final decisions rest with the Board.

I have ten years of experience.  Do I have to list every supervisor that I have ever had and get a reference from 
them?
No, you must have references from three licensed PE supervisors who can verify at least four years of 
experience. 

What are the deadlines for the PE exams?
There are no longer deadlines for applying.   

How much time should I allow for applying for the exam?
Order transcripts and verifi cations (if required) at least two months in advance.

Will it be a problem if some of my documents arrive before my application?
No.  Your supporting documents will be held under your name until your application arrives or for up to one 
year.



Foreign and Non-EAC/ABET degrees must be evaluated by 
NCEES before an application is submitt ed.
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If I apply for the exam and cannot take it due to work scheduling confl icts, do I have to apply to the Kansas 
Board again?
No.  Once you have the Board’s approval to take the exam, you may choose whichever exam administration 
works for you. 

Who do I contact if I want to change from one exam date to a different date?  
NCEES administers the exams.  Please contact them directly.  You may lose your registration fee.  A courtesy 
call to inform the Board office is appreciated.

Is the PE exam an open book exam?
Visit the NCEES website (www.ncees.org) for information concerning the exam.

What is the actual location or address for the exam site?
Visit the NCEES website (www.ncees.org) for information concerning the exam.

I received Board approval to take the exam last year but was sick on that day.  Do I have to apply with the Board 
again?
No.  Your approval is still in effect.  You must register with NCEES for the next exam administration that works 
for you.  You may have to pay another registration fee to NCEES.

I failed the exam last time I took it.  Do I have to apply with the Board again?
No, you will not need to apply again.   

I am getting married / divorced and my name will change.
Please submit the Name Change Form with the required documentation to ksbtpadmin@ks.gov

I am moving to a new address.
Please notify the Board office by utilizing the Change of Address form or online version and email the completed 
form to ksbtpadmin@ks.gov. 

I passed a computer-based engineering exam. 
Please notify the board of your passing as NCEES does not automatically notify KSBTP.



Contact: Jessica Pierce
jessica.pierce@ks.gov  | (785) 296-3052
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I contacted NCEES with my new address.  Do I have to contact the Board as well?

(This information is current as of July 29,2021.)

Yes, address changes sent to NCEES are not shared with the Board office as we are separate business entities.  
Please ensure we also have your current contact information.  

I have passed the exam.
Please notify the Board of your passing as NCEES does not notify KSBTP.

Should I send the Professional Engineer Exam application in before registering?
Yes, the application is required to be completed before taking the exam.   

When will I get my results?
Computer-based exam results are typically available 7–10 days after you take the exam. You will receive an 
email notification from NCEES with instructions to view your results in your MyNCEES account.

What happens if I fail?
You may re-register with NCEES. Examinees will be provided one attempt per testing window and no more 
than three attempts in a 12-month period, which begins with the examinee's first attempt.

What do I do if I still have unanswered questions?  
Call the Board office at  785-296-3053.  




